News - Detail

2019-20 Underclassmen Receive Academic, Activity and Service Awards

In yet another adjustment to this Covid-impacted school year, last spring's postponed Underclassmen Awards ceremony was replaced by an assist from USPS (all awards were mailed directly to recipients on October 2)...and our usual in-person late spring formal assembly in the Abbey Church was replaced by this public website announcement. These adjustments in no way diminish the accomplishments of our underclassmen during the 2020-2019 school year.

Please take a moment to read this list of award recipients, all of whom deserve a hearty round of virtual applause from the Delbarton community for sustaining a level of excellence even during a global pandemic. In addition to the young men listed, the following 2019-2020 juniors (who are now seniors) were recognized...

Patrick Smart '21 will participate in the 2020 New Jersey Scholars Program. The Program's mission is to connect 39 rising seniors from a broad socio-economic, ethnic and racial cross-section of the state's population to an intense interdisciplinary exercise that studies one subject from many angles. 

 Michael Dangler '21, Nicolas Gritz '21 and Aleksander Paulius '21 have been chosen to attend the American Legion New Jersey Boys State. Each Boys State program operates under a two-party political system and is generally fashioned after the governmental structure of the respective state in which it is held. 

For outstanding achievement in mathematics and science, the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Medal was awarded to William Li '21.

For outstanding academic achievement and superior intellectual promise in the field of science, the Bausch & Lomb Science Award was awarded to Owen Hand '21.

The Richard Gilder History Prize recipient is James Reinke '21. 

The following college book awards were presented to now-seniors who have demonstrated academic excellence and intellectual promise, who have exhibited outstanding personal character, who have made a significant contribution to the co-curricular life of the school, and who have earned the respect of both the faculty and their peers.

The Brown University Book Award is presented to: Connor Teehan '21

The Columbia University Book Award is presented to: Ethan Cho '21

The Cornell University Book Award is presented to: Hayden Kenny '21

The George Washington University Book Award is presented to: Nicolas Gritz '21

The Princeton University Book Award is presented to: John Szymanski '21

The St. Anselm College Book Award is presented to: Colin Sutter '21

The St. Michael's College Book Award in presented to two recipients this year: Connor Cirrotti '21 and Christian Lalin '21 

The Williams College Book Award is presented to: Zachary Vincent '21 

The Yale University Book Award is presented to: Patrick Smart '21 

We congratulate all award winners and commend them for their hard work and achievements during the 2019-2020 school year!